History of the New York Giants

The history of the New York Giants begins in 1925, when the team played their first game. Since then, the New York Giants history has extended well over 80 years, as the team has become one of the most popular and one of the most successful in the history of the NFL.

The team is officially known as the New York Football Giants, which was a distinction made when the baseball New York Giants still played in New York. Despite the fact that the team moved away, the official corporate name of the team is still the New York Football Giants.

New York Giants Championships

The New York Giants have won a total of seven championships. Four of these took place before the advent of the Super Bowl. These occurred in 1927, 1934, 1938 and 1956. The other three are Super Bowl Championships won by the Giants, and they were Super Bowl for the 1986 season XXI, Super Bowl XXV for the 1990 season and Super Bowl XLII for the 2007 season.

The New York Giants played and lost in the Greatest Game Ever Played, the NFL Championship game against the Baltimore Colts in 1958. They also appeared in the championship game but lost in 1959, 1961, 1962 and 1963. The Giants lost Super Bowl XXXV against the Ravens following the 2000 season.

Hall of Fame New York Giants Players

The New York Giants players in the Hall of Fame include recent inductee Harry Carson, as well as all-time great linebacker Lawrence Taylor. Team patriarchs Wellington Mara and Tim Mara are in the Hall of Fame, as are many other players from the Giants classic days. These include one time Giants player and coach Tom Landry, one time coach Vince Lombardi, linebacker Sam Huff, halfback Frank Gifford, quarterback Benny Friedman, quarterback Y.A. Tittle.

Other less recognizable names include center Mel Hein, tackle Cal Hubbard, player and coach Steve Owen, halfback Ken Strong, defensive back Emlen Tunnell, halfback Alphonse Leemans, end Morris Badgro, tackle Roosevelt Brown and defensive end Andy Robustelli. Future Hall of Fame Giants player Michael Strahan retired after the 2007 season.

New York Giants Stadiums

The New York Giants have played in five different stadiums over their team history. The first of which was the Polo Grounds, where the Giants played from 1925-1955. The team then played nearly twenty years in Yankee Stadium, until 1973. The Giants then had brief stints at the Yale Bowl and at Shea Stadium before moving into Giants Stadium in 1976. The team plans to move into their new stadium for the 2010 season.

New York Giants Today

The history of the New York Giants is long and proud, and the tradition continues as new generations of fans and players take center stage. Today, the New York Giants play at Giants Stadium in the Meadowlands and are getting ready to move into their new stadium which they will continue to share with the New York Jets. The team won Super Bowl XLII against the New England Patriots in the beginning of 2008.

The Giants are coached by Tom Coughlin and quarterbacked by Eli Manning. The team is owned by John Mara and Steve Tisch.

Find New York Giants Merchandise